#Animation Summit: Full Lineup of Events, Guests

November 3 – 6, California Yacht Club, Marina del Rey, CA. Big discount for ASIFA Members!

Join Animation Magazine’s World Animation & VFX Summit, November 3 – 6, California Yacht Club, Marina del Rey, CA. Register with the promo code ASIFA, and attend for $295 instead of $395: http://animag.eventbrite.com/?discount=ASIFA

Animation Magazine has announced its full lineup of guests and events for the three-day event. Sony Pictures Imageworks’ award-winning VFX supervisor Jay Redd (Men in Black 3, Monster House) and renowned animator, historian and professor Tom Sito will deliver the 2013 VFX and animation keynotes.

Here are some of the other panels scheduled for the Summit:

VFX Feature Film Case Study

Visual Effects Supervisor John Knoll and Animation Supervisor Hal Hickel will present Industrial Light & Magic’s exciting work on Guillermo del Toro’s blockbuster Pacific Rim.

Animated Feature Film Case Study

Sony Pictures Animation’s Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2 creative team (Director Cody Cameron, Producer Pam Marsden, Co-Producer Chris Juen, Production Designer Justin Thompson, Art Director Dave Bleich) will be on board to talk about the ins and outs of development, production, and the challenges of making an animated feature for today’s global audience.

Also featured is the VFX and tech team from Walt Disney Animation Studios’ eagerly awaited holiday feature Frozen. They will share their behind-the-scenes process of making the movie.

Among the many high-level animation and VFX industry professionals confirmed to appear on this year’s Summit panels are:

  • Carolyn Bates, Executive Producer, Buttercup Pictures & Senior Production Executive, Shut Up! Cartoons
  • Jason Bierut, Technical Director, Disney Television Animation
  • Kristine Belson, Producer, The Croods
  • Ted Biaselli, Vice President, Programming, Hub Network
  • Jacques Bilodeau, President & Producer, Oasis Animation
  • Jamie Kezlarian Bolio, GKIDS, Ernest and Celestine
  • Jenna Boyd, Senior Vice President, Animation Development, Nickelodeon
  • Brendan Burch, CEO, Six Point Harness
  • Ryan Carroll, CEO, Summertime Entertainment
  • Tapaas Chakravarti, CEO, DQ Entertainment
  • Vincent Chalvon-Demersay, President, Marathon Media
  • Dan Clark, Creator, Grid Smasher
  • Ryan Cooper, Animator, PCB Productions
  • Fred de Wysocki, Partner & Co-Founder, Fantastic Films
  • Sheena Duggal, Visual Effects Supervisor, The Hunger Games
  • Chris Edwards, CEO, The Third Floor Inc.
  • Frank Falcone, President & Creative Director, Guru Studio
  • Jenny Fulle, CEO, The Creative-Cartel
  • Peter Gal, Head of Television Development, DreamWorks Animation
  • Raul Garcia, Producer, R&R Communications
  • Daniel Gregoire, CEO, Halon
  • Anthony Hoit, Systems Development Lead, Graphic Film Company
  • Lenora Hume, Executive In Charge of Production, Shut Up! Cartoons
  • Andrew Koski, Partner, Licensing & Royalties Consulting Services
  • Stephen Lawes, Co-Founder, Cantina Creative
  • Youngki Lee, CEO, WonderWorld Studios
  • Ludovico Marenzi, Managing Director, Mackevision
  • Peter J. McHugh, Agent, The Gotham Group
  • Scott Metzger, Visual Effects Supervisor
  • Tim Miller, Director, Co-Founder, Blur Studio
  • Conrad Montgomery, Director of Comedy Animation, Cartoon Network
  • Mike Moon, Vice President, Creative, Disney Television Animation
  • Alexis Nelson, Executive Producer, Hoax Films
  • Petteri Pasanen, Producer, CEO, Anima Vitae
  • Greg Payne, Attorney, Executive Producer, Foothill Entertainment
  • Chris Prynoski, Executive Producer, Co-Founder, Titmouse
  • Shannon Prynoski, Supervising Producer, Co-Founder, Titmouse
  • Fred Schaefer, Executive Producer, OddBot
  • Alex Schwartz, Producer, Mr. Peabody & Sherman
  • Sander Schwartz, President, Kids & Family Entertainment, Fremantlemedia
  • Robert Sethi, Creative Director, The Mill
  • Evan Spiridellis, Co-Founder, JibJab
  • Mark Vulcano, Animation Director, Heavy Iron Studios
  • Aron Warner, President of Animation, Reel Fx; Executive Producer, Free Birds
  • Chris Wedge, Co-Founder & VP of Creative Development, Blue Sky Studios; Director, Epic


  • David Cohen, Senior Features Editor, Variety
  • Frank Gladstone, CEO, Gladstone Films
  • Max Howard, Animation Consultant and Lecturer
  • Tom McLean, Journalist and Animation Magazine contributor
  • Craig Miller, Animation Writer-Producer
  • Rita Street, President, Radar Cartoons
  • Ellen Wolff, Journalist and Animation Magazine contributor
  • Ramin Zahed, Editor-in-Chief, Animation Magazine

Tickets on sale now for Opening Night Party honoring:

Animation Magazine’s Lifetime Achievement-Hall of Fame Award recipients:

June Foray, Legendary Voice Actress
John Knoll, ILM’s Chief Creative Officer
Tapaas Chakravarti, CEO of DQ Entertainment

Breakout Studio Award recipients:

Stoopid Buddy Stoodios co-owners Seth Green, John Harvatine IV, Matthew Senreich and Eric Towner, creators of Robot Chicken

Original Vision Award recipients:

Chris Sanders and Kirk DeMicco, writers and directors of DreamWorks Animation’s The Croods

Join the Studio Tour!

See the inner workings of The Mill, Sony Pictures Animation and Titmouse.

This year’s event is sponsored by DreamWorks Animation, Sony Pictures Animation, Ile de France, Illumination Entertainment, Toon Boom, CelAction, The Gotham Group and Variety.

You can learn more about the event at animationmagazine.net/summit/